West Poms graduates make their mark on respective dance teams


Courtesy of Janna Datteri and Kimberly Ordonez

Previous Greeley West Poms members are pictured with their respective college dance teams.

Maddie Zeller, Staff Writer

If you watched the Colorado vs. Northern Colorado football game this weekend, you may have noticed some familiar faces on the field. In fact, you could have even watched the Colorado State game and recognized a few people.

That’s right:  seven different  Greeley West Poms team graduates perform with the UNC Sugar Bears, the CU Buff Gold, and the CSU Ramettes dance teams. 

These former team members made great strides throughout their time at Greeley West and continue to make their mark now.  CU Buffs dance team member, and Greeley West 2019 graduate Jana Datteri said, “It is so inspiring being on the (CU Buffs Team) that is so dedicated not only to dance but the university as well.”

Before these dancers made it to the collegiate level, they had to rehearse many long and rigorous hours here at West. Former dancers encourage younger students to stay with the Poms program and move their way up to college teams. “(Dancing for a college team) is different compared to high school teams, but if dance is really your passion you should definitely go for it,” said UNC Sugar Bears team member and 2020 graduate Kimberly Ordonez.

Ordonez said that college teams require a great amount of work and dedication.  But according to these dancers, it is all worth it in the end. It’s also worth it for their former coach, Ms. Peggy Freemole. 

“(Greeley West Poms dancers) are all very motivated and inspired by dance; they love to dance. They have done a lot of training over the years. Participating in high school dance can be a great stepping stone towards those goals,” Freemole said.

Many GWHS poms members work towards collegiate levels and continue to preserve the legacy that has been created here at West. Those dancing in college are: Peyton Book (2018), Datteri (2019) and Jacelyn Hays (2019) at CU; Ordonez (2020) and Myra Cerillo (2020) at UNC; Isabella Martinez  (2020) Mackensie Hora (2019) at CSU.